Committee Heading


Brief Screening Tool Committee
Committee members have researched brief screening tool measures, selected the NC Project Broadcast Brief Trauma Screening Tool, and are currently collaborating with local DSS agencies to pilot use of this screening tool.
Committee Chair: Lisa Wright |

Community Resilience Committee
The committee engages individuals and organizations who are working to build resilience at the community level utilizing a trauma-informed and equity lens to support these efforts.
Committee Co-Chairs: Olivya Wilson & Sarah Mersereau | &

Healthcare Committee
The TICN Healthcare Committee is made up of 35 individuals representing local hospital systems, private pediatric practices, community health clinics, public health organizations, managed care, behavioral health hospitals, clinics, and more. Many of these organizations are at various stages of implementing trauma informed, and trauma responsive practices into their settings. This committee is utilized as a learning collaborative, where we can discuss challenges and barriers, and share our experiences, successes, and resources.
Committee Co-Chairs: Melissa McGinn |

Legal/Courts Committee
The Legal/Courts Committee is focusing on efforts to enhance trauma-informed practices within legal and court related agencies in the Greater Richmond area.
Committee Co-Chairs: Jim Nankervis & Lisa Wright |

Outcomes Committee
Committee members assist in the development of an evaluation plan to measure the collective impact and value of the TICN in our community. Evaluation is focused on the design and implementation of the TICN and assessing changes in how individuals, organizations, and/or systems function and interact as a result.
Committee Chair: Sarah Mersereau |

Policy Committee
The TICN Policy Committee works to promote trauma-informed and resiliency-based legislation and policy on a local, regional, and state level. We collaborate with TICNs and other key stakeholders from across the state to accomplish this task.
Committee Co-Chairs: Jeanine Harper & Emily Griffey | &

Schools Committee
Committee members are focused on working within schools and universities to ensure that personnel are prepared to work effectively with students who have experienced trauma. The committee’s work is organized through two work groups: (1) Pre-K-12 work group, which concentrates on training and technical assistance to schools on trauma and on trauma-informed approaches to education, and (2) Universities work group, which is designed to assist faculty and administrators in Schools/Colleges of Education to understand childhood trauma and to include content on trauma in their preparation of future teachers, school counselors, and administrators.
Committee Co-Chairs: Margo Buchanan | 

Training Committee
The primary focus of the TICN Training Committee is to develop a common language and understanding around our community on the impact of adverse childhood experiences and strategies to build individual and community resilience. Training Committee members take turns facilitating a 3-hour foundational training on trauma and resilience every other month around the community. This training is always free and open to anyone in the community. The TICN Training Committee has also provided this training to specific organizations upon request.
Committee Co-Chairs: Melissa McGinn & Crystal Sylvester |

Workforce Development Committee
Committee members have researched trauma-informed programs within universities across the U.S., developed recommendations for one local university’s school social work and are working to improve access to ongoing trauma-focused treatment training to increase access for families to quality mental health services.
Committee Chair: Bethany Imbody |

*For additional information about committee and subcommittee accomplishments, please go to the  Reports section*


Comments are closed.